Craigslist Scam
The rental lease on our duplex is up in December, so Kristen and I have been testing the real estate waters to see if we might like to move somewhere else. Kristen found a promising prospect on Craigslist. It was a duplex in an nice part of town with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms for $400 per month. Great deal, right? Almost too good to be true. We decided to drive over to the property to have a look, and it matched the pictures that were posted on Craigslist:
What an opportunity! I quickly sent a message to the listed email address. That message, and the following reply, are listed below.
Kylan Robinson Sat, Sep 26, 2009 at 4:44 PM To: brown_lee@rocketmail.com
Hi, we saw your ad on Craigslist and are interested in your rental property at 320 Harrison. Would you be willing to show it to us? We are generally available after 4PM on weekdays and any time on weekends. My phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.Thank you,
Kylan Robinson
Lee Brown <brown_lee@rocketmail.com> Mon, Sep 28, 2009 at 4:51 AM To: Kylan Robinson
Hi
Thanks for contacting me regarding your interest in my house,the house is available now,I will like you to go and have a good look at the house first and then give me your full info and how long you will be staying..we decided to rent the house because of a job that relocated my husband to London, and we all moved to join him last month as we were left with no other chioce than to put the place up for rent and by that we put it at $400 per month and the security deposit is $350 including utilities,we shall be staying up to 2 and half years or more,however you should not be weary of the fact that we live abroad because we will work out every thing accordingly.
I request that you go look at the house because right now we are in London …
Pets are allowed without charge/policy
Safety and maintenance of the house is our utmost priority that is why we needed someone with a family, single or with neat roommates to stay in the place so if we have the guarantee that the house will be safe in your hands then we shall proceed with the rental arrangements.
The nieghborhood is very okay and the house is nice with magnificient interiors and nice kitchen units.
The house is available now.
Below are some necessary information we need to have about you before we take the decision to rent the house to you.Your Full Names:,Your Full Address,Phone Numbers,Marital Status,How many people will be living in the place?
Do you have a pet?
Do you have a car?
Occupation?
Date of Birth
…………………………………………..(mm………………/dd/………………………….yy)
income per month[estimate]
Is there anything special we should know about you
Possible move in date……….
Best Regards
Lee Brown
Strange response. Why all of the personal questions? This raised a warning flag in the back of my mind, so I decided to slow things down a bit. The ensuing response only confirmed my suspicion:
Kylan Robinson Mon, Sep 28, 2009 at 8:26 PM To: Lee Brown <brown_lee@rocketmail.com>
Hi Lee,Before we talk about the specifics of renting your property, we would really like to take a tour of it first. Can we arrange a time to go inside and check it out?Thanks,
Kylan
Lee Brown <brown_lee@rocketmail.com> Tue, Sep 29, 2009 at 6:57 AM To: Kylan Robinson
Thanks for your email,you are going to make the payment through western union,and i want you to promise me that you are going to take good care of my house in which is important to me and my family and below is information to make the payment
Receiver’s Name:Lee Brown
Receiver’s address:17 watford road,Harrow,middlesex
Country;LondonAs soon as you make they payment the keys of my house and the receipt which shows that you have paid for the house and lease agreement will be send to you through DHl and i will get back to you with arriver time and the tracking Number but you need to get back to me with information you use to make the payment including MTCN no.
Congratulation once more your seach on craigslist is now over and it will be and interesting thing to have you as our tenant.
Best Regards
Mary james
That settles it, it’s a scam! I really hope that no one falls for this, and I flagged the original Craigslist post to warn everyone else. To me, the impressive thing about all of this is that this scammer used accurate photos of the property he/she was advertising. Maybe they grabbed the images from Google StreetView? Ingenious, but evil.
I really like how “Lee Brown” can’t even keep their name straight. He/she signed the second email as “Mary james,” even after indicating that the money should be sent to “Lee Brown.” I’m tempted to respond to this scam artist and see how long I can string them along…





